Trump Getting His House In Order With Several Nominations Over The Past Few Weeks


With all of the drama behind us on Justice Gorsuch and hopefully on other issues like Russian partiality, we have a chance to see more of Trump’s nominees begin to shape up. He has not just chosen heavy conservatives but has added many different layers of talent to his cabinet.

Here are the ones currently being provided as nominees since March 21, 2017:

March 21, 2017 – Judge Amul R. Thapar of Kentucky for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. He is the son of Indian-American immigrants and currently serves on the District Court for the Eastern District of Kentucky. Bush nominated him in 2008 to hold the position. Judge Thapar became the Nation’s first Article III judge of South Asian descent.

March 22, 2017 – Director of Legislative Affairs, Marc Short, announced the following additions to the Legislative Affairs Senate staff team:

  • Amy Swonger will serve as Deputy Assistant to the President and Senate Deputy Director of Legislative Affairs.
  • Bethany Scully will serve as Special Assistant to the President and Senate and House Special Assistant.
  • Andy Koenig will serve as Special Assistant to the President and Policy Special Assistant.
  • Virginia Boney will serve as Special Assistant to the President and Senate Special Assistant.
  • Joseph Lai will serve as Special Assistant to the President and Senate Special Assistant.
  • Mary Elizabeth Taylor will serve as Deputy Director of Nominations.
  • Cat Curry will serve as Executive Assistant to the Director of Legislative Affairs.
  • Jim Goyer will serve as Legislative Assistant.

March 23, 2017 –

Althea Coetzee of Virginia to be Deputy Administrator of the Small Business Administration. Rear Admiral Althea (“Allie”) Coetzee (Reserve since 1993).  She was awarded the American Jurisprudence Award (Criminal Law).

William Francis Hagerty IV of Tennessee to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to Japan.  From 2011 to 2015, Mr. Hagerty served in the Tennessee Governor’s Cabinet as Secretary for Trade and Commerce.

Robert L. Sumwalt III of South Carolina, to be Member of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) for a 5-year term expiring December 16, 2021, and to be designated Vice Chairman for a term of 2 years.  Mr. Sumwalt has been a fierce advocate for improving safety in all modes of transportation, with a focus on teen driver safety, impaired driving, distractions in transportation, and rail and aviation safety initiatives.

March 27, 2017 – Makan Delrahim to the Department of Justice –  If confirmed, Makan Delrahim of California will serve as an Assistant Attorney General (Anti-Trust Division) at the Department of Justice. Mr. Delrahim currently serves as Deputy Assistant and Deputy Counsel to the President.

April 3, 2017 – Dan R. Brouillette to the Department of Energy – Mr. Brouillette is Senior Vice President and head of public policy for USAA, the Nation’s leading provider of financial services to the military community. He was Chief of Staff to the United States House of Representatives Committee on Energy and Commerce, which has broad jurisdictional and oversight authority over five Cabinet-level Federal agencies. He also served as Assistant Secretary of Energy for Congressional and Intergovernmental Affairs from 2001 to 2003. He is a former state energy regulator, having served as a member of the Louisiana State Mineral and Energy Board from 2013 to 2016.

April 4, 2017 –

  • Sigal Mandelker, of New York, to be Under Secretary for Terrorism and Financial Crimes, vice David S. Cohen, resigned.
  • Heath P. Tarbert, of Maryland, to be an Assistant Secretary of the Treasury, vice Marisa Lago.

April 6, 2017 – Derek Kan to the Department of Transportation – Mr. Kan is the General Manager for Lyft in Southern California. He has also served on the Board of Amtrak since 2015.

April 8, 2017 – Lee Francis Cissna to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services –  Mr. Cissna is currently a Director of Immigration Policy in the Office of Policy of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

April 10, 2017 – Donald M. Benton to the United States Selective Service System – Mr. Benton served as a Senator in the Washington State legislature for 20 years from 1997 to 2017.

Conservative HQ is also reporting that as of today two more have been added to the nomination list:

Dr. Mark E. Green of Tennessee to be Secretary of the Army. Dr. Green currently serves as Tennessee State Senator for District 22. He is the Chaplain of the Senate GOP Caucus and was selected as the Tennessee Journal’s Rookie of the year in 2013. As an Army physician, Mark served in the 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment where he made three combat tours to the Middle East. Dr. Green is the CEO of Align MD, an emergency department staffing company, which provides leadership and staffing to emergency departments and hospitalist services in forty-seven hospitals in nine states.

Russell Vought of Virginia to be Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget – Russ Vought is well-known to the CHQ team from his twelve years on Capitol Hill in numerous roles, particularly his tenure with the House Republican Conference when then Rep. Mike Pence was Chairman. Since leaving the Hill, Mr. Vought has spent the last seven years as Vice President of Heritage Action for America, one of the conservative movement’s most effective grassroots political action organizations.


There you have it…liberals can’t complain about bias here on most fronts although we Know they will. These people cover quite a spectrum of dedicated professions and varied backgrounds. Though Conservative HG was lamenting the lack of top-heavy conservative stalwarts, I really am glad there is a balance as long as they all remember they are working for the citizens and not for a party, then ideas and balance is essential.



About Uriel

Retired educator and constitutionalist
Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.